Friday, July 12, 2024
Shopoutlife
Shopoutlife
Shopoutlife
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Suffolk Discovers: Steven Thrasher on The Viral Underclass [IN-PERSON + LIVE]

October 16, 2023 @ 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Free
Interested in learning more about the world and history? Suffolk Discovers meets to discuss a new theme each session that explores the cultures and backgrounds of people in our communities. For adults.
About this session:
Having spent a ground-breaking career studying the racialization, policing and criminalization of HIV, Dr. Thrasher has come to understand a deeper truth at the heart of our society: that there are vast inequalities in who is able to survive viruses and that the ways in which viruses spread, kill and take their toll are much more dependent on social structures than they are on biology alone.
Told through the heart-rending stories of friends, activists and teachers navigating the novel coronavirus, HIV and other viruses, Dr. Thrasher brings the reader with him as he delves into the viral underclass and lays bare its inner workings. In the tradition of Isabel Wilkerson’s Caste and Michelle Alexander’s The New Jim Crow, The Viral Underclass helps us understand the world more deeply by showing the fraught relationship between privilege and survival.
No registration required to join our viewing party at North Suffolk Library. However, registration is required to attend virtually.
For more information and to register for the virtual viewing, visit: https://suffolkpubliclibrary.libcal.com/event/10718557

Organizer

Suffolk Public Library
Phone
(757) 514-7323
Email
https://suffolkpubliclibrary.com/151/Contact-Us
View Organizer Website

Venue

North Suffolk Library
2000 Bennetts Creek Park Rd
Suffolk, VA 23435 United States
+ Google Map
Phone
(757) 514-7150
View Venue Website